Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

how to measure response of speakers
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th January 2005, 10:04 PM   #1
justinc is offline justinc  United States
diyAudio Member

Default how to measure response of speakers

This may be a stupid question but what is required to measure the frequency response of speakers once one builds them. All I have is an spl meter and also a microphone. What program is used to generate those nice graphs etc... I'm totally new to this so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 19th January 2005, 10:11 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
On Hiatus

It's not a stupid question, but it's one whose answer could fill a book. And, in fact, it has: Joe d'Appolito's "Testing Loudspeakers" is extraordinarily useful.

Basic equipment you need is a test mike, a sound card, appropriate software (Speaker Workshop is popular and deservedly so), an amplifier, and a few bits of wire and resistors. You can be set up for under $200, even less if you've already got a calibrated test mike.
Old 19th January 2005, 11:25 PM   #3
cjd is offline cjd  United States
diyAudio Member

FWIW - I don't think having the right equipment is the tough part, at least if you're using Speaker Workshop. Setting it up so you get consistent results can be an interesting saga.

Note: Not all sound cards are up to the task.

And, room can play havoc with things.

C
Old 20th January 2005, 01:13 AM   #4
wintermute is offline wintermute  Australia
just another
diyAudio Moderator