how to measure response of speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This may be a stupid question but what is required to measure the frequency response of speakers once one builds them. All I have is an spl meter and also a microphone. What program is used to generate those nice graphs etc... I'm totally new to this so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

It's not a stupid question, but it's one whose answer could fill a book. And, in fact, it has: Joe d'Appolito's "Testing Loudspeakers" is extraordinarily useful.

Basic equipment you need is a test mike, a sound card, appropriate software (Speaker Workshop is popular and deservedly so), an amplifier, and a few bits of wire and resistors. You can be set up for under $200, even less if you've already got a calibrated test mike.

FWIW - I don't think having the right equipment is the tough part, at least if you're using Speaker Workshop. Setting it up so you get consistent results can be an interesting saga.

Note: Not all sound cards are up to the task.

And, room can play havoc with things.

C

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
couldn't agree more with cjd on the soundcard front!!! I started with a SB16 (woefull) then went to a turtle beach motego II (slightly better than woefull) and now have an Audigy II ZS which is excellent :)

on the speaker workshop side of things make sure you get and read this: http://www.audiodiycentral.com/resource/SWmanual/Speaker Workshop Manual 1.0.zip

should save you a lot (but probably not all) of grief.

Tony.