Morel versus Seas, Vifa, Dynaudio - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th January 2005, 12:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Morel versus Seas, Vifa, Dynaudio

I am a newbie and I want to build my first speakers, a 2-way bookshelf. I am currently investigating some drivers (tweeters and mids) and ran into some manufacturers. Morel's factory happens to be a 20 min. ride from my house so it's not a problem for me to get their stock. My question is, how are morel drivers (the mid-high level drivers they produce) compared to Seas, Vifa Dynaudio or Audax? which one is better? because it seems that while Morel's line is a bit expensive (MDT series) ,Seas appears to have decent prices and so as Vifa.

any recomendations everyone?
Old 18th January 2005, 01:44 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Snickers-is
I am personally impressed by the performance of Seas drivers. I think the Seas paper woofers and midranges are outstanding.

But how about considering a ribbon for your tweeter?
Old 18th January 2005, 01:44 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to botrytis
Well, there are two Morel's. The one that sells speakers through PartsExpress and other places is actually located in Isreal. MorelUsa - I don't know anything about their drivers - although they were being sued by Morel for using the name.

Dave
Old 18th January 2005, 02:11 PM   #4
argo is offline argo  Estonia
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Morel versus Seas, Vifa, Dynaudio

As for Morel vs. Dynaudio there is not so much difference because most of the Morel drivers were copies of Dynaudios anyway. Their newer drivers are designed in-house though but with same design philosophy in mind.