Designing Home Theater towers, advice????

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm going to do a little modding and reconstruction on a set of home theater towers I have and I'd like a little advice.

First off, I'm a college student and these will most likely be going in a dorm room. I know space is normally a premium, but I'm willing to sacrifice floor space for sound. I love my music!

These towers weren't stunning by any means to begin with. They sounded nice, but probably only ran a few hundred at most when they were new. (I don't know for sure, they were given to me)

I want to pull the mid/tweet out and chop the top off leaving the 12" woofer and pasive radiator in tact. Where the mid/tweet was (top half of the tower) I want to build a pannel that rises up a few feet for a dipole midrange set up and a place for the tweet.

before I go any farther, is this a good idea? I'm not looking for top quality sound here. I just want something that will sound/look good for dorm room music listening and movie watching.

I'll be using a pair of Vifa/Infinity 4" mids for each tower. I've already mounted them on a baffle board along with a tweet from my Bose system in my car (long since removed in favor of WAY better stuff) and they sounded pretty good. They were better than the mid/tweet combo in the tower anyway. The 4" mids didn't have crossover on them and the tweets had the cap that was built into them from the factory. I would like to put a high pass xover on the mids because they sounded stressed during heavy bass lines.

The Bose tweets will be replaced with a pair of Morel MT10's most likely. I run those tweets with a pair of those same VIfa 4" mids as part of my 3way set up in my car and I love them. I'm pretty set on those tweets.