Bohlender & Graebener transducers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Experience with RD75 and Neo8

I have some experience with BG drivers.

The Neo8 has some interesting characteristics, but also some that make it difficult to work with, particularly in a smaller design such as you propose.

Here are some plots on axis and off, mounted on a 2' X 4' baffle:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

In a longer line array, the on axis peak at 13 kHxz is ameliorated to a degree.

Used in singles, the Neo8 has very little vertical disperion at high frequencies (imagine trying to make a 6" dia tweeter - it would beam like a searchlight above 5 kHz), so the speaker would have to be a just the right listening height. In multiples in a line array, it is more useful and less critical of listening position, IMO.

The bigger B&G drivers make some truly wonderful midranges, say running an RD75 from 600 Hz to 5-7 kHz, for example. Stunning on classical music, to say the least.

Regards,

Jon

Well, I was planning on using a NEO8 up to 5.5kHz and then crossing over to a NEO3PDRFP above that. Maybe something like that is what you're looking for. Unfortunately I've got some of the drivers (probably going to use a focal woofer for the base), but it won't get started until I finish off my current speaker set, so I don't have any actual experience...

Disabled Account
Joined 2001
I do not understand your objective. You state this is a minimonitor, and from this i must presume you are using a 5.25" or 4" midbass. You want to cross around 1.2-1.5khz fom mid to neo8, and then 5.5khz to neo 3? This is what i must presume with lack of further description.

What is point of this? Their are pleny of adeuqate 5.25" Mids available that exhibit excllent properties into 2-2.5khz range.

Explain.

-Chris