John Krutke Designs adaptable for Home Theatre?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guys

I recently posted a thread stating I'm a complete newbie in dire need of some guidance. Basically my situation is this will be my first ever diy speaker set and I was after a plan that would sound very good according to you guys (as obviously I won't be able to test them before purchasing)

My main usage for these speakers will be tv/dvd/xbox but also the ability to play some nice sounding music (mainly rock/accoustic material)

In that thread krutke's designs were brought to my attention. Now I have very little understanding of whats out there but John's page seems to have very detailed guides which is steering me that direction but as I mention in all of my posts please jump in if you think there are better options out there. (I still havn't even decided between the seas L18 mt or Vifa XG18 mtm designs)

Now to the main part of my question. Of all the DIY plans I've found they seem to detail the main speakers very nicely however I'm gathering for home theatre usage I'm going to need atleast 5.1? I guess I'm hoping to hear from any of you guys if these designs are easily transferred into a home theatre setup and if so are there plans out there for a nice matching sub, centre channel and surrounds. I have read its advisable to use matching drivers but thats where my knowledge ends. It would actually be great to hear from John as I did read in one of his posts that he uses the xg18 mtm in his home theatre room so I'm presuming he has the other speakers designed to go with them.

I'm also havn't worked out if a floor standing or stand mounted setup is the way to go so advice there would also be appreciated.