center channel

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello,

i am very new to diy i have recently built 3 subs.

thing is that i have a harman/kardon avr 3550 receiver. 85wx5
i dont have a center channel.

i am thinging of building a chenter my self.

son can any one give me a idea of how i can build it.
i am willing to use fullrange drivers and a piezo tweeter.

wut tweeter should i use? like piezo or a papercone tweeter?
( keep in mind i live in india we dont get any drivers from fancy international brands so its all local stuff)

also r fullrange drivers good or should i use woofers?

if its a configuration of 2 drivers and 1 tweeter, can i connect all in series and the tweeter in paralel and connect it to the amp? or do i need to put some capacitors and resistors?

should i make a ported enclosure or a sealed one?

i think loudspeaker making is much easier than making a sub.

As ever, whether the box is sealed or ported will depend on the drivers you use.

It might be nice to try a fullrange design with a piezo tweeter just coming in for 8-12kHz and up. This means you don't have a crossover in the voice range so it should sound quite coherent and natural providing you source a nice fullrange driver. You may also be able to get away with a minimal crossover which will be easy to design.

The downside (if you can call it that) of this approach would be that the box would have to be an upright design as opposed to the more common, horizontal, lay-down type.

Your driver will need to be shielded if your TV is a CRT type, or the stray magnetic field will distort the picture. The piezo tweeters have no magnet, so they wont be a problem. Just put a 8-10 ohm 2W resistor across the piezo terminals, and use a series cap of about 2 or 3uF to tie them to the woofer terminals. It is quick and easy, and should work reasonably well.