Why the emphasis on flat speaker response?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A couple of things up front: I'm no audiophile and I'm new to building my own speakers. With those caveats in mind, can someone answer a question that's been bugging me since I started researching DIY speaker building: why is everyone striving for flat freqquency responses, since that isn't how our hearing works?

My wonder got quite a boost last night. I was invited to hear a very expensive, highly tuned system. There were enough Sunfire amps in the room to power a large cruiseliner. The owner had built the speakers himself out of the finest components he could find. Then he spent days and days tweaking them until his response curve was remarkably flat. He even took them to a recording studio in town for testing. I was impressed with his data. Then he played them for me. They were about the worst sounding speakers I've ever heard. Harsh and shrill to an extreme. In fact, they had a treble boost that I feared was going to peel the paint from the walls, if it didn't burn the skin from my body first. I'm glad the guy liked them, but I thought they were hideous.

So I'm asking, do people really like that sound? We don't have flat hearing curves, and it seems odd to me that we would want our speakers to emit sounds that are artifically boosted. It has been a long, long time since I fooled with any audio gear, but back in the early `70s when I was first interested in sound systems, the idea was to match your speakers' response with your hearing. Can't remember the specs exactly, but that required a pretty significant dip in the midrange, as much as 8-10 db at high SPLs.

So what's the deal? After a lifetime of open exhaust race cars and rock 'n roll, I know it's not because I have good high freq hearing.

I think the emphasis will make more sense if you start by recognizing this fact: