First-timer - NSB line array - please help a newb. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th November 2004, 03:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First-timer - NSB line array - please help a newb.

This is my first post on this forum, so be gentle. I have been reading for some time, and doing searches on this forum. I think I'm ready to jump into my first speaker project. Since this is my first project, I want to do it absolutely on the cheap! That said, I also want it to be done right. Here's what I thought about: NSB line arrays. MMMMTMMMM 8 NSB's with a onkyo buyout tweeter in the middle. I have a sub in the system, so these won't see anything below 80 or 100 Hz. Now for the questions...
1) do you think this will be a good arrangement?

2) I've tried some of the on-line (winISD I think?) software to try to see how big to build the box, and I haven't had much luck, as I don't know which driver I should enter the T/S parameters for, and I don't know how to deal with the multiple drivers of an array. I tried, but I somehow ended up with a negative volume...pretty sure that's not right. Does anyone have plans for such a beast - or could someone help me determine how big my box should be (prefer sealed or ported - not open baffle.) ?

3) I just need a crossover from the array to the tweeter right? a 2-way. I don't even know where to start here. Pick a XO frequency I guess... but after I pick that frequency, how do I pick components to make that happen? Again, It would really be great if someone could offer specifics here. (maybe even a schematic ).