Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th November 2004, 06:42 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default few questions

I'm new to diy, and home audio in general. I've started to build a home theater and want to add a center channel and sub soon.

I have read a lot on threads on here but am not very familiar with ribbon tweeters. Well I really have never heard one, and dont know of any audio shops near me that sell speakers with ribbon tweeters. Obviously this might be difficult, but if possible could anyone explain how ribbon tweeters sound. (remember I am a newbie, not too harsh)

I'm a member of elite car audio and have been referred to a book called the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook to help teach me about enclosure design and passive crossovers. Is this a good book to purchase?
Old 4th November 2004, 11:27 AM   #2
Banned

Dickason's book is as good as any and better than most. Ribbons have extremely fast transient response due to their very low diaphraghm mass.
Old 4th November 2004, 09:48 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I'm going to order the book hopefully tonight. Although I have little experience, do you think it will be difficult for me to build a simple passive crossover?

Are ribbon tweeters good for imaging? From what I have read this is a yes, is that true?

Do ribbon tweeters need a seperate enclosure as to not be effected by other drivers, similar to dome tweeters?

Due to the high effeciency of a ribbon tweeter I'm guessing they are very detailed. Can ribbon tweeters sound staticky?

Thanks,

Josh
Old 5th November 2004, 12:39 AM   #4
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Josh,

A simple passive XO is easy. A good XO is a lot of trial and error.

Ribbon tweeters are good for imaging.