Tweeter Opinion - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st November 2004, 09:50 PM   #1
jchappj is offline jchappj  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Tweeter Opinion

Hi Everyone. A quick intro and a question for you. I am a relative newbie to speaker building. I have completed a bass guitar cabinet using a single JBL 2245H that turned out pretty good. This in turn has given me a pretty big itch to complete a project a little more adventurous. I've got a decent wood shop so I'm combining two of my favorite interests, music & woodworking. This forum seems like a great resource! OK, at any rate here's the deal:
Latest project- build (5) two-way speakers for hometheater surrounds. Woofers will be the Focal 6W4311, already purchased. Boxes 3/4" MDF and vented. BBPro used to get the optimal Vb. My choice for the tweeter is either the Morel MDT-20 or MDT-30. I was hoping to get opinions on which to use (excepting the obvious cost difference). OR, even opinions on an altogether different one. Any other tips greatly appreciated too!
Thanks,
jchappj
Old 2nd November 2004, 02:55 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default tweeter advice

could use a little information,
1). do you plan on making these for just surrounds or all five of a
five channel system
2).are the focals shielded
3).what are you planning for your cross over point
Old 2nd November 2004, 02:58 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Links for the specs to your proposed tweeters would be good too... save the ppl browsing the forums from looking for them... hence, allowing them to give a speedy answer
Old 2nd November 2004, 10:27 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Default Re: tweeter advice

Quote:

1). do you plan on making these for just surrounds or all five of a
five channel system