Tweeter Opinion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Everyone. A quick intro and a question for you. I am a relative newbie to speaker building. I have completed a bass guitar cabinet using a single JBL 2245H that turned out pretty good. This in turn has given me a pretty big itch to complete a project a little more adventurous. I've got a decent wood shop so I'm combining two of my favorite interests, music & woodworking. This forum seems like a great resource! OK, at any rate here's the deal:
Latest project- build (5) two-way speakers for hometheater surrounds. Woofers will be the Focal 6W4311, already purchased. Boxes 3/4" MDF and vented. BBPro used to get the optimal Vb. My choice for the tweeter is either the Morel MDT-20 or MDT-30. I was hoping to get opinions on which to use (excepting the obvious cost difference). OR, even opinions on an altogether different one. Any other tips greatly appreciated too!
Thanks,
jchappj
:)

Re: tweeter advice

1). do you plan on making these for just surrounds or all five of a
five channel system
2).are the focals shielded
3).what are you planning for your cross over point

1). They will be the surrounds for a 6.1 system. I'm using a pair of Polk Monitor 5's for the Center.
2). They're unshielded. Here's the MDT-30, and here's the MDT-20. Here's the Focal spec's.
3). The crossover is my next step, I haven't gotten that far yet. The woofer range is 50 Htz-4500kHtz. The tweeters are 1300 and 1600 - 20,000kHtz. I'm using a subwoofer on the system, 150 Htz crossover point for the really deep bass.

Here's a shot of the cabinet I mentioned BTW... It also has a grill that goes on front. I think it sounds pretty good when I'm gigging. I use a Hartke amplifier and bi-amp the lows to it, the the highs to a David Eden cabinet.

Attachments

• jchappjbox.jpg
    jchappjbox.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 497