Adire Speaker Idea .. comments?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Any drawbacks?

Well, I've no experience working with the thing, so I can't give first hand information, but I've heard some people raise concerns that the behringer gear is not up to 'audiophile standards' in terms of DACs and other components used. Usually those who raise these issues recommend moving up to some similar piece of gear by a more 'reputable' company that costs 10x as much.

For someone like me, who is happy with consumer grade mid-fi electronics (for the most part), these things are not a major concern. For someone with $1000 outboard DAC or CD transport and a $2000 tube amp, these may be real concerns. I suppose its a matter of priorities and budgets.

Originally posted by dwk123 I'll cast a supporting vote on the 'computer-based dsp crossover' approach. I also use this approach, and think it has a ton of advantages. However, I think what most people here are trying to do is just make it clear that crossover design is for the most part crossover design, and using a computer or other active techniques doesn't really make it 'easier', merely 'different'.

Excellent! I'm so glad to hear someone else thinks this is the way to go. May I ask you to tell me about your setup?

Thanks!

morbo said:
Well, I've no experience working with the thing, so I can't give first hand information, but I've heard some people raise concerns that the behringer gear is not up to 'audiophile standards' in terms of DACs and other components used. Usually those who raise these issues recommend moving up to some similar piece of gear by a more 'reputable' company that costs 10x as much.