Back Loaded Horn with Pro Coax Driver - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2004, 01:45 PM   #1
djdan is offline djdan  Romania
diyAudio Member

Default Back Loaded Horn with Pro Coax Driver

Can you tell me your opinions about this design ?
I want to make a back loaded horn with coaxial pro speker for use at home and powered by a small class A amplifier ( 2 - 5w / channel ) .

Can you give me some help to simulate the response of this cabinet ?
I have some experience to calculate simple horn but I want to know other opinions.

Some specs :

Driver : PAUDIO BM-12CXA

Fs = 55 Hz
Qms = 8.19
Qes = 0.43
Qts = 0.41
Vas = 103.54
Xmax = 3 mm
SD = 510 cm
Re = 5.6 ohm
Z = 8 ohm
Pe = 200w
SPL = 100 dB/1w/1m
Bl = 11.59
Cms = 0.28mm/N
Mms = 29.87 g
Rms = 1,26 Kg/s

I want to use MDF - 19mm for this project .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg blh.jpg (73.4 KB, 472 views)
Old 14th October 2004, 01:57 PM   #2
Banned

Download McBean's Horn resp program. To model a rear-loaded horn leave the rear chamber volume and length at 0; what this will give you is the predicted response of the horn only (rear wave). The front chamber volume of the program becomes the rear chamber of the actual horn. To approximate system response you combine horn output with the manufacturers standard baffle frequency response from about 100 Hz on up. The folding scheme is up to you, but don't waste a lot of effort with complicated curves or reflectors as below 200 Hz they have little if any effect as long as you keep pathways between bends less than 1/4 wavelength long (which at 100 Hz is about 2.8 feet). In fact, no reflectors is a good idea assuming you want to maximize the low pass function of the horn.
Old 14th October 2004, 02:05 PM   #3
diyAudio Member