PLLXO with stepped volume control? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th October 2004, 04:05 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default PLLXO with stepped volume control?

Hi Guys,

Nice forum!

I'm a bit of a newb with little electronics theory, so I'd really appreciate a little help on this question:

Is is possible to stick a stepped attenuator upstream of a PLLXO for volume control, or would it mess up the PLLXO aligment?

I don't know if it matters, but I was thinking of using a ladder-type attenuator and a combination of RC and LC filters in the PLLXO.

Thanks in advance for any light you can shed on me!

Dart
Old 5th October 2004, 06:44 PM   #2
Pan is offline Pan  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Will mess up the x-over function.

/Peter
Old 5th October 2004, 08:58 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

What would it take to make it work? Could you isolate the PLLXO from the stepped attenuator with something like a line transformer?
Old 5th October 2004, 09:46 PM   #4
KCHANG is offline KCHANG  United States
diyAudio Member

Hi Dart,

I encountered this issue when I was playing with PLLXO for my JBL CS3150 3-way horn speakers. I dealt with this problem by isolating the stepped volume attenuator and the PLLXO with an active buffer stage. I used the BUF03 IC, but I'd assume that any good OpAmp or buffer IC will do. With the active buffer stage, it is no longer an all-passive setup and thus loses some of the "purist" or "minimalist" flavor, but it's still better than using big coils and caps on the speaker drivers.

Kurt
Old 6th October 2004, 01:21 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Kurt,

Thanks for the information.

Dang. I was hoping to avoid active opampish thingamabobs, mostly because I really don't understand them . . .