Transfer functions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm a computer engineering student with a soft spot for building loudspeakers. I am currently in the process of planning a solution for a loudspeaker simulator program, and despite what many seems to think, this isn't easy at all.

There are two obvious mysteries for me. I have been searching the web (including this forum) and asking my math teachers about both. This forum is my last hope :bawling: (Ok, maybe a bit dramatic there)

Mystery number one: Transfer functions. I assume this to be the functions from which I can draw the actually simulated graphs. For example, the transfer function for SPL would typically be a function of a specific frequency at a specific input level (1W/1m), using a specific driver in a specific box, etc. Does anyone know where I can find -detailed- information about which equations to use where? I have read through The Loudspeaker Cookbook and Testing Loudspeakers, but the only relevant info I can find is vague references to various fourier transforms.

Mystery number two: Banal as it may seem, how do I draw a semi-log graph paper, as seen in frequency response sheets? I have a fair idea about how to go forth to do this, but as always, a good reference beats trial and error, atleast in this matter :)

Information, or hints about where to obtain information, will be greatly appreciated. As mentioned, I currently own the cookbook 6th edition and Testing Loudspeakers 1st edition, in addition to The master handbook of acoustics 4th edition (in case anyone is going to reference pages in any of those books).

Kind regards,
Norway