making a phase plug?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello, i was wondering how you guys make phase plugs... i've been wanting to experiment with some on the parts express buyout drivers (4" full range) and need to know how to make them...i do have a laithe but i've never used it before...(its a part of the shopsmith i own)...

suggestions? is it something i can just buy cheaply somewhere?

thanks!

an idea...

i read that material doesn't really matter that much, but shape does...

i was thinking of carving one out of wood to the right size and spae then casting a mold of it and making them out of clear resin (very similar to epoxy)...would this work well? it seems that it would...

anyone?

anyone want to give me some better answers? some cheap alternatives? i still think i'll go the mold rout since that wal i'll be able to make tons of em easily:cool: and i can do spiffy things with em...

so...any ideas? i just need to construct one of em then i can make the mold...:)

Try searching a bit. I know Timn8ter has made them for his speakers. Actually, someone else may have made them for him. Don't remember.

His were made of wood and cleverly used a pair of tiny steel screws in the bottom so the speaker magnet held it in place.

I don't know that you even need a lathe. You could probably make them using a drill as a makeshift lathe especially for a driver as small as that.

nerd of nerds said:
hello, i was wondering how you guys make phase plugs... i've been wanting to experiment with some on the parts express buyout drivers (4" full range) and need to know how to make them...i do have a laithe but i've never used it before...(its a part of the shopsmith i own)...

suggestions? is it something i can just buy cheaply somewhere?

thanks!

What is a phase plug?
What does it do?
Ideally, it is an object placed in front of your driver/speaker which interferes with the sound paths.