Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd September 2004, 06:58 AM   #1
nrgy is offline nrgy  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Mini Monitor using Vifa drivers...

I am looking at building a mini monitor, apprx 4" W x 6" H. The components I am considering are the Vifa D26NC-55-06, and the TC08SD49-08 3-1/2". Several months ago I bought the Vifa D27 and P13 drivers for a bookshelf speaker, but am scrapping the idea for something a little more compact.

First off, I am new to the hobby, the D27/P13 would have been my first project. My question is, can I allow the 3-1/2" driver run full range, or will I need to run a XO in this setup?

What type of configuration would you recommend, or basically how would one suggest I approach this? Sorry to be so vague.
Old 3rd September 2004, 07:53 AM   #2
dvdwmth is offline dvdwmth  Canada
diyAudio Member

why dont you build johns tangband project if you need somthing that small. the tangband driver is nice. I just built it, as have many others here. Its a good beginner project and it sounds good
Old 3rd September 2004, 03:56 PM   #3
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Mini Monitor using Vifa drivers...

Quote:
Originally posted by nrgy
My question is, can I allow the 3-1/2" driver run full range, or will I need to run a XO in this setup?.......or basically how would one suggest I approach this?
I would not use it without an XO. In the Vifa line, their MG10SD-09-08 can be used fullrange as long as you don't listen too far off axis, and on paper and the few reviews I've read should compare favorably with the TBs, but I haven't auditioned them so YMMV.

GM
Old 3rd September 2004, 05:17 PM   #4
dvdwmth is offline dvdwmth  Canada
diyAudio Member