Hello, and upgrading Mission 71i speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello from the UK

Hi everyone!

I am a total newbie to all this DIY/modding stuff and glad I bumped into this site. It certainly seems very active regarding this field and from what I've read you guys are very knowledgeable. It certainly gives me alot to think about and opens a new door into the world of diy audio as opposed to buying ready made stuff off the shelf.

Ok on to my question:

I was wondering if you guys would be kind enough to point me in the right direction regarding the upgrading of components on the second order crossovers on my Mission M71i speakers. I realise it's a basic question and they are not so great speakers and it's not entirely DIY but it is my first project and I would like to see what kind of improvements can be gained from adding better quality parts (would like to limit spending to about £30-40 for the pair). So does anybody know if there are any sites out there that can help a total novice to understand and upgrade the crossovers components and what parts would be best to use (not overkill considering the quality of drivers used). I've read some of the threads in the loudspeaker section but the posts seem to be more for people with some knowledge.

Thanks! :)

BTW most of the parts are unbranded except the caps (C2+C3 are elytone 10uF (10%) 63V NP, R1 is 5W 2.7ohms JB, R2 is 5W 2.2ohms JF, C1 is 5.6K 100V). Don't laugh but this stuff doesn't mean a thing to me.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
Hi Mate , and welcome to diyAudio :)

I have moved your post to the loudspeakers section, and retitled it, as your questions will be better answered there.