open baffled all over again

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello guys, (and girls)

in between my exams so time for surfing. I have red the open baffle topics over and over.

i have got some questions about drivers.

i wanna make an complete open baffle,
the lows : open baffle sub
the rest : fullrange open baffle

for the fullrange open baffle, i think i would use an coral driver, but Frank, aka mr tube told me that the highs are not always there, so probably i'm gonna use an super tweeter; the woofer will be crossed over with linkwitz filter at ~100hz, then for 100 to 12000 (maybe 15000) the fullrange and then the tweeter comes in;

but now my two questions;

1) as a fullrange driver i have seen something new, (well for me personally cidada;) if i can lay my hands on a coral, probably i'm gonna buy that; but what do you take the coral, or the cidada; and most of all : why ; or would you step to a smaller model like fostex 127 or something. (i have the feeling that an 8 inch drive would perfrom better) (take for example the saba's of telefunken full range)

2)the subs; i have seen that nuke searched the whole got d*** planet, at least in europe, for a decent driver. He came up with a few; now i have found some to.

the question is are we gonna use PA material; if so on ebay you can get an eminence beta 15 for less then 50 euro.
But what if you wanna use "home" woofers; i have looked at gradient, because they are cheap, the have an 12 inch driver for 40 euro, it has an FS 32, allright not that deep, but i don't need anything lower. and also 93db sensitivity which isn't exactly super high, but still, i don't play that loud. oh yeah here is the url
http://www.plus-elektronik.de/shop/index.htm?lautsprecher___zubehoer_home_-_hifi__programm_gradient_-_produkte_tieftoener.htm
but it is a light cone, and probably rather fast.