Help on Dual Chamber Reflex box & car audio response Q's please (LONG)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Help on Dual Chamber Reflex box & car audio response Q's please (LONG)

Hi all, new to the forum but this place seems to have TONS of great info and knowledgeable members. I’ve already spent days reading old posts and doing searches, but I’m still not up to a level of knowledge to make educated decisions, lol. I’m not an audio newbie, having had several systems in the past and currently. Have also designed and built 4th order and sealed sub enclosures before.

What I want is to design a new subwoofer enclosure for my car. I’ve got a late model 300ZX, and it has an aftermarket exhaust. So, right off I’d like to point out that the car was never “quiet” and is hardly that now. So, I do not need “audiophile” quality sound, as I will not be able to hear the differences most likely. To let you know that I have a somewhat decent starting point(I think, lol), my system consists of a Rockford Fosgate RFX-8120 CD headunit, a Kenwood 3-way active crossover network, Boston Acoustics RC61 6.5” components in front and some Audioart 5.25 coaxs in the rear(they were in the car when I bought it). I have two amps, an Alpine MRV-T505 and a Rockford Fosgate Punch 150(old school from the early 90’s). The alpine is currently running the 6.5’s and 5.25’s and the Punch150 runs sub duty. System is installed well with power wires down door sills, RCA’s down one side of center console and speaker wires down the other and it sounds clean. I built this system about 4 or 5 years ago, so it is hardly cutting edge, but does what I need it to well.