Bipolar speaker configuration ... need info! accoustical pros and cons ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th July 2004, 05:39 AM   #1
JinMTVT is offline JinMTVT  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Bipolar speaker configuration ... need info! accoustical pros and cons ?

My understanding of loudspeaker is coming together slowly!
Thanks to all of you ..

Yet after a few hours of search, i never found the answer to a question in here or elsewhere.
what i found is the "marketing" reasons why they use this arrangement, but never found the accoustical reasons.

So i would like to know what exactly are the benefits of a bipolar
"push-push" arrangement of drivers in an enclosure.
I've been using Mirage speakers for a tad over 3 years now,
all 3 of em beeing bipolar "omnipolar" systems.

Else than having way to many relfections in a small room
I have not been able to point the other advantages.
So that is what i would like to learn tonight from you

all in all.. what are the pros and cons ( and the implications toward deisgning the systems ) of Bipolar arrangement of drivers.

Also would appreciate pointers on the design itself,
sub, mid and high freq if there is differences or problems associated with each Vs bipolar

Beeing here with you guys ,

compare for me Bipolar and Dipolar configuration in terms of
accoustical performance

Thanks again all for your time and efforts !!
Old 24th July 2004, 06:34 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

hi

amongst other benefits -push pull reduces distortion

acts as a better piston to push air

and increases power handling of the drivers

suranjan

transducer design engineer
Old 24th July 2004, 06:44 AM   #3
navin is offline navin  India
diyAudio Member