diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Multi-Way (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   Bipolar speaker configuration ... need info! accoustical pros and cons ? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/38353-bipolar-speaker-configuration-need-info-accoustical-pros-cons.html)

JinMTVT 24th July 2004 05:39 AM

Bipolar speaker configuration ... need info! accoustical pros and cons ?

My understanding of loudspeaker is coming together slowly!
Thanks to all of you ..

Yet after a few hours of search, i never found the answer to a question in here or elsewhere.
what i found is the "marketing" reasons why they use this arrangement, but never found the accoustical reasons.

So i would like to know what exactly are the benefits of a bipolar
"push-push" arrangement of drivers in an enclosure.
I've been using Mirage speakers for a tad over 3 years now,
all 3 of em beeing bipolar "omnipolar" systems.

Else than having way to many relfections in a small room :p
I have not been able to point the other advantages.
So that is what i would like to learn tonight from you :)

all in all.. what are the pros and cons ( and the implications toward deisgning the systems ) of Bipolar arrangement of drivers.

Also would appreciate pointers on the design itself,
sub, mid and high freq if there is differences or problems associated with each Vs bipolar

Beeing here with you guys :D ,

compare for me Bipolar and Dipolar configuration in terms of
accoustical performance :angel:

Thanks again all for your time and efforts !!

hunter audio 24th July 2004 06:34 AM

hi

amongst other benefits -push pull reduces distortion

acts as a better piston to push air

and increases power handling of the drivers

suranjan

transducer design engineer

navin 24th July 2004 06:44 AM

i think we are talking push push here though.

dave (planet 10)'s site has a horde of info on push push (esp TLs).