PEERLESS 850439 in MLTL

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First of all thank-you to MJK for your wonderful mathcad models, and all the the contributors to TL threads. I'm going to build a test cabinet for the Peerless 850439 driver soon and wonder if anyone else is interested in using this driver in an MLTL. The goal is to surpass the performance of a 'textbook' bass reflex box. I've attached Martin's ML TQWT Design Worksheet with the published driver specifications and with my meanderings in case someone wants to look at the simulation results. I am very new to speaker design so if anyone is willing to suggest improvements I would gratefully welcome the advice. I will be getting the loudspeaker measured on a Clio or TEF system at work when it's assembled and can put up the results here if there's interest.

Attachments

• 850439.zip
    39.3 KB · Views: 279
You are using way to much stuffing to smooth out the ripple. If you need more than 0.3 lb/ft^3 to get the ripple below +-3dB, the design is flawed. However, you are on the right track. I think you are reaching a bit for a 5" driver, but not too much. Try L=40", eta=.23 and density=0.3. You can improve on this by using the "Ported" worksheet and moving the port up the pipe 4" or so. Position the port so as to minimize the peak in the port output at 600Hz. Then put some stuffing in the bottom of the pipe so as to round off the cut-off. Otherwise, the speaker will boom at cut-off.

Bob

Thanks Bob for your advice. I will tweak the ported worksheet for a while and post some simulation results in case anyone is following along.

I really want to get it right at the lower end of the range of human voice and can use a subwoofer to get the deeper bass. Some horn freaks have offered me a horn sub to put under the livingroom floor - I think I'll put it right under the sofa and not tell my wife.