Help with Line Array wiring_Power tapering

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just ordered 32 of the 4" full range pioneers and will be picking up Steve (apexjr.) $1 tweeters next week.
I'm thinking of going with the example on Dr. Griffin's paper to avoid complications.

Here's the paper on the line array (http://www.audiodiycentral.com/resource/pdf/nflawp.pdf)

How would i go and wire like what he has in the example?
I am very new at this, so any illustrations will be fine

I attached the picture from the .pdf and that's the configuration that i want to do.
Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions

Attachments

• linearraywiring.jpg
    linearraywiring.jpg
    39.5 KB · Views: 278
I think now i just understood the wiring combinations illustrated in Dr. Griffin's paper and now the whole thing makes sense (sorta)

so if my amp is either 4 or 8ohm stabled and want to go the tapered route..i would go with combination 3 and 4?
When first looked at the combinations...i thought i had to combine ALL together..now that would be a huge mess wouldnt it?

I'll try to make a diagram tonite and will post..
maybe someone could correct me there..
Thanks in advance

When choosing how to wire your array, you need to have an idea of what amp, or type of amp, you will be using. Some amps, like tube amps, may work better into an 8 ohm load. A lot of solid state amps work well into 4 ohm loads, but not all.

I plan to build line arrays later this year.

tomcat9 said:
When choosing how to wire your array, you need to have an idea of what amp, or type of amp, you will be using. Some amps, like tube amps, may work better into an 8 ohm load. A lot of solid state amps work well into 4 ohm loads, but not all.

I plan to build line arrays later this year.

Thanks for the reminder..
i have a pioneer elite receiver that i plan to run the line arrays for awhile..