At which frequency does "ear canal gain" start for headphones? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th July 2004, 09:49 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default At which frequency does "ear canal gain" start for headphones?

Assuming a typical circumaural headphone, when would the 12dB/octave gain start?
Old 14th July 2004, 10:42 PM   #2
Svante is offline Svante  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Re: At which frequency does "ear canal gain" start for headphones?

Quote:
Originally posted by 454Casull
Assuming a typical circumaural headphone, when would the 12dB/octave gain start?
I'm not really an expert on this, but I could possibly make an educated guess. I would suggest that it would occur at the same frequency as any "room gain", just that the "room" is pretty much smaller. If the diameter of the cavity is some 4 cm, half a wavelength would fit into that at some 4 kHz. That would be a rough guesstimate. Hmm, this means that headphones should be compensated for this. Maybe they are, I don't know.

Edit: But wait, you call it "ear canal gain" in the subject line. The ear canal would have nothing to do with what I described. The ear canal acts like a pipe resonator, also around those frequencies. That resonance is responsible for the increased sensitivity of the ear in the range 1-5 kHz.
Old 14th July 2004, 10:59 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Re: At which frequency does "ear canal gain" start for headphones?

Quote:
Originally posted by Svante