Sound Localization Discussion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm pretty new to diyaudio.com, but thought it was about time i started my own thread. I've browsed quite a few threads and havent found one truely dedicated to sound localization yet so i thought i might start one. Here's what i know. Sound localization occurs due to a likely 2 things. Intensity differences between ears, and phase differences. well intensity is a for sure, i havent exactly read anything that talked about phase though. Lower frequencys i dont believe can be localized audibly at all, but perhaps there is some physical localization. if bass gets intense enough you can feel it and perhaps where the force is coming from? I believe the secrets of the ear are truely what will lead us on to making better sound reproduction equipment. I've searched around a bit on the internet about the subject and havent exactly found an abundance of information, but i did once read a bit of a study done by the air force that assesed localization of sounds while wearing protective ear muffs. The air force has an awesome sound lab from what i saw. They had a geodesic sphere with like 4" bose full range speakers at each of the many many verticies. the whole thing was located in a anechoic chamber. It seemed very cool. a True version of surround sound perhaps. what does anyone know about localization?

I like to figure stuff out

As food for thought consider binaural recordings over headphones.

I disliked these intensely because everything seemed to be
coming from behind me, even a recording of a plane passing
overhead changed direction over my head.

I think subtle head movement in real life quickly sorts
out back to front along with of course visual cueing.

:)sreten.

I think subtle head movement in real life quickly sorts