Madisound Bk-16 Kit review

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my very first attempt at a review. However i will give it the old college try.

I recently git the DIY bug, and was searching for a project. I did the Dayton III from PE, and they were ok. Made the best out of a little money, and my son loves them for whatever it is he is listening to these days. However, my tastes are a little more demanding as can be witnessed by the shear volume of high-end commercial equipment I have bought, and have cluttering our home.

My musical tastes are pretty vaired everything from Mozart to the Violent Femmes to Lynard Skynard. However, my real love is Jazz - Female Vocal type - just like it - dont know why. Sade, Diana Krall, Ella Fitzgerald, Nina Cimone, etc, etc.

Well back to the review. I have always been pleased with several sets of speakers that I own - Polk Audio 12B's, Quad 57's, DCM Time Windows. Sonus Faber Parvas, etc. etc.

My favorites have always been the old tried and true Quad 57,s due to their richness and great tonality in the types of music I love. However, I must say that the Fostex FF165K used in the BK-16's is one awesome little driver. I am sitting here now listening to Sade's "Jezebel", and it is like I am hearing it for the first time, I swear she will walk over and touch me any moment. The vocals seem to wash over you like a nice warm bath - not a hot shower - where your intention is to become clean and exit. The music the speakers produces makes you want to sink into the tub, and relax.