small, cheap DIY speakers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th June 2004, 09:11 AM   #1
Jennice is offline Jennice  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Default small, cheap DIY speakers

Hi folks,

I've seen the Gale speakers 3010s and 3020
( http://www.gale.co.uk/loudspeakers.html )
and they seemed to do the job for kitchen speakers at US$80 each.
However, being a DIY'er, I thought it would be possible to do something yourself, and have the fun of it, too!
The main criteria is: small and cheap. Second is the sound.

I'm new to speakers, but with the aspects provided above, I figure it shouldn't get too complicated!?

Any suggestions?

Jennice
Old 30th June 2004, 02:27 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Does not get much cheap, smaller, and simpler than this:
Tangband speaker project
And apart from bass I imagine they sound pretty good.
Joe
Old 30th June 2004, 04:14 PM   #3
MarkMcK is offline MarkMcK  United States
diyAudio Member

You might also try the slightly larger four inch.

A project is part of this forum at:

markmck's Tang Band mods

Better bass, small size, low cost, and good sound. No imagination required.

Mark
Old 30th June 2004, 06:55 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thank you for your suggestions, guys!

The nearest place for these units is in Germany (southern neighbour to Denmark, where I live). I've contacted them and await their pricing info. Now all I can do is wait patiently... like when my g/f starts looking in a clothing shop.

Jennice
Old 30th June 2004, 07:43 PM   #5
Xlight is offline Xlight  Europe
diyAudio Member