mtm versus tm driver recommendations on project with $500 driver and xo part limit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just finished building a pair of MMMTMMM's for a friend of mine, and am interested in making a pair of speakers for myself. I listen to a wide range of music from rock (mostly classic) to jazz and classical recordings. I am a little skeptical of building or for that matter purchasing parts for the project since all my purchases to date have been after extensive listening tests, but reading this board has started to convince me that there are some out there who build for excellence in addition to value. I have extensive woodworking experience (tapered lamination, cabinetmaking, furniture projects), am not a bass freak, and place a high importance on voice reproduction and instrument sustain in the mid range and up through the high freq's.

My current stereo:

Creek 5350SE integrated amp, a Rega Planet (1999 model), and a Linn LP-12 turntable, Norman Labs Model 11 speakers (notice big weak spot).