Try Ambiophonics with your speakers

poldus said:
I already have a yss901 working with analogue in/out and the physical barrier has been removed.

I am currently experimenting with the separation/angle of the stereo dipole to achieve the widest image.

I think I will build a dipole where the left and right drivers´ rims converge at the center of the box (minimum possible distance between them) and facing slightly outwards (convex baffle).
So far I´m convinced this widens the image the most.

I would like to know if this matches others´ experiences.

On a different note, I have some digital background noise that I´m trying to remove (by hit-or-miss trials since I have no training in electronics whatsoever). I just found the quietest spots on the board so far to apply external analog and digital 5V but I´m looking to improving this area.

I will soon attempt digital in/out with another chip (I bought ten from China)

I am very, very excited over my achievements so far ! :)

The U board of the Sony is full of very noisy secondary power supplies. Best to remove them all. Also, the DAC in the YSS is very noisy, especially if you are using the 15 or 10 deg setup where you need 2 or 3 bit shift for processing overhead.
For the digital only mode I found the YSS is the easiest to interface in the YAMAHA DSP mode if your receiver supports that. I had a quick look at the docs you sent, and looks like they support it only in SW control mode, not in hardwired setup.
In that case you can try the 64fs I2s on the receiver and you can delay the data line with a shift register clocked by negBCLK.

eStatic said:

Well that's a bug not a feature as far as I can tell. When one pans a signal across the sound stage the volume should not change perceptibly, but it does. It looks like I will be seeing Robin Miller in the first part of May. I'll definitely ask him about this.