Ok guys here is an interesting project- - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th June 2004, 10:10 PM   #1
RyanC is offline RyanC  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Ok guys here is an interesting project-

Hello,

As a professional musican/recording engineer I have always been highly disapointed with the options for live keyboard/piano combo amps. So I thinking about building my own here is what I am looking for:

1. I want somthing that is stero-ish from one box- Somthing like this-
http://www.music123.com/Motion-Sound...S-i97949.music

2. Needs to be less than 50lbs. with amps- I plan to use the Stewart amps that are very light (about 10lbs for a 400wpc@8 amp) And it needs to fit in my car an Acura Integra- with room for other stuff-

3. Needs to be very loud- Not that I will always need it but I want it to easily compete with a loud drummer with no need for a PA- so say at least 120+dB with moderate distortion- (it needs to go well into ear plugs required loudness). I'm not trying to specify an exact figure here- But there is no way it can be too loud- One note here- when an speaker is amplifying a specific insturment only it always sounds less loud then a whole mix- So 120dB RMS from a CD will sound much much louder then my keyboard measureing at the same level.

4. Budget including amps and everything = $1000 or so.

5. Resonably accurate- say 40hz-18k or so- I do some left hand bass stuff- so it will need a fair amount of LF extension- However left hand bass gigs are always quiter gigs than keys gigs so this may not be that critical (I can crank the EQ up on my keyboard)