Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th May 2002, 08:38 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Why would anyone want 8ohms?

i am still new to the diy scene and i was wondering.....
why anyone would want a higher Impedance.....
in all cases i have seen the higher impedance the lower wattage an amp can put out..... their for less sound....lower spl.....
right?

for example:
a partsexpress subamp puts out 250w @ 4ohms and only 180w @ 8ohms.......
what is the benifit of 8ohms over 4?
it looks to me like it is a bad decision to go with 8ohms.....

i am not sure so that is why i am asking.....

please respond....
Old 10th May 2002, 08:56 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Slice,

Many amps dont like four ohm loads very much. its true that most sub amps love 4 ohm loads, but many hifi amps do not. Tube amps especially dont like low impedance loads. Another reason is that the impedance of speaker systems changes in relation to the frequency, so with your eight ohm nominal impedance speaker, the impedance could dip much lower at certain points, and if this where a nominal four ohm load, then you could see maybe one ohm at certain frequencies. sorry if this isnt very clear.
Old 10th May 2002, 09:22 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

so their is absolutly no benefit to using different ohm loads....?
Old 10th May 2002, 09:35 PM   #4
Bill F. is offline Bill F.  United States
diyAudio Member

There are much higher caliber amp gurus about this forum, but I'll take an awkward swing.

If you test the THD of a given amp at the lower end of its impedence envelope, and again at the higher end, you'll generally see distortion drop as impedence rises.