measured thiele para - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th May 2004, 12:33 PM   #1
sonu is offline sonu  India
diyAudio Member

Default measured thiele para

I am a novice with a whole lot of questions, so please bare with me.

I am a electronics engineer 6-5months back i designed a amp & Subs for my brother who's a DJ, fine the amps are perfectly working since then.

Basically i made 12" woofers on my own but could not measure the thiele parameters so couldn't design the boxes, did a guess work, and luckily those subs also sounded good.

As I always like to design perfect things, I searched the website for measuring thiele para, and found it on ESP Site. After measuring the parameters i found the following.
VAS - 75.19l
Fs - 54Hz
Qts - 0.870
Qms - 5.750
Qes - 1.020

Now I simulated this on WINISD but couldn't come to a conclusin what enclosure size, what fb to use and port size, please suggest me the best ported design I could do with this driver.

Now one more thing I wanna know as how to select a best driver i.e. what parametrs i should look for when selecting. so that i can improve my driver on that basis, what all affects the change in VAS, Fs, Q etc.

Regards.
Old 13th May 2004, 01:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

That Qts of 0.870 makes life difficult in a reflex box! Using WinISD beta 0.44 the best I could get was 343 litres and 41.7 Hz. You could go all-out and try a 6th order bandpass with the rear chamber 400 litres at 35 Hz and the front chamber at 100 litres at 70Hz.
Old 14th May 2004, 07:47 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

OK but I wanna know as how to select a best driver i.e. what parametrs i should look for when selecting.
As i have made this driver on my own, I want to know what all affects the change in VAS, Fs, Q etc.