First attempt at making homemade surrounds

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to speaker building, and as an experiment wanted to make my own foam surrounds for an old pair of 4" drivers from a Koss M85-Plus (exact commercial replacement surrounds not found). I was not concerned with exactness; these were cheap and I wanted to see how different homemades would be from the originals.

My local craft stores only carry 2mm foam which I feared might be too thick/heavy, but I found 1mm EVA foam online. (1mm EVA CRAFT FOAM SHEETS 12"X18" 15 pcs, choose or write in your choice. 762668731008 | eBay)

I happened to already have a router and a 1/2" diameter core box bit (which are cheap). I also happened to have several sizes of clear tubing/hose (available at most home stores) and found a 3/8" size to be a good match.

I used the router with core box bit to cut appropriate size circles in two pieces of board the same diameter as the original surround roll, 80mm peak-to-peak. I used a homemade router circle cutter.

I then lay the foam sheet on top of one of the cut boards, place the tube ontop of that, then place the other board ontop of that, creating a sandwich that presses the tube into the foam and forces it down into the channel I cut. You can see I simply cut the tube the correct length to fit the circumference then taped the ends together- nothing very exact.I screw the boards together with a common wood screw, directly in the center in order to hold the sandwich together tight.