crossover design sb17nrx ,sb29rdnc. Will this work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone.

I have been a long time lurker @ diyaudio, I have admired the knowledge and work of many people here. I have finally decided to take the plunge and design my own speaker.

I have decided to use SB17NRXC35-8 and SB29RDNC as they have very good reviews on the forum and some commercial kits based these drivers. meaning they go well together and offer good value.

This is my first time designing a crossover.
I am sure I have made some pretty dumb mistakes, Please take a look and let me know how this design can be improved.

The crossover is designed using Xsim3D.
the design is +/-2db I am hoping to achieve +-3db in real world.

I have taken the Frequency response from manufacturers site pictures and converted to frd with spl trace program in vituixcad.
The design is compensated for baffle step diffraction generated by vituixcad.
Drivers will be physically aligned for time delay /Phase.
Baffle will be 9w x 18h x 12d enclosure using 0.75 mdf. 2x10 inch ported bass reflex box. (Calculated from vituix cad)

Thanks to @bwaslo and @kimmosto for their wonderful software.
Both great in their own right.

Attachments

• sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-crossover.jpg
    sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-crossover.jpg
    23.9 KB · Views: 1,457
  • sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Frequency-response.jpg
    sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Frequency-response.jpg
    192.1 KB · Views: 788
  • sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Frequency-response-inverted.jpg
    sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Frequency-response-inverted.jpg
    198.2 KB · Views: 699
  • sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Impedence.jpg
    sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-Impedence.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 671
  • sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-baffle-placement.jpg
    sb17nrxc35-8-sb29rdnc-4-baffle-placement.jpg
    21.2 KB · Views: 752
Last edited: