2 Way PA system with Celestion CDX1-1745

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Folks,

I'm new to speaker builds etc., however, found a compression driver at a sale i.e.: Celestion CDX1-1745.

I'm planning on building a small PA system for guitars, keys, bass and vocals etc. I was wondering what would be a suitable woofer to mate with it. One that came to mind was the Eminence Alpha 15A and the other was a generic B&C. Any advice would be of great help.

I want to keep the following goals in mind:

• Great sound quality (least distortion etc.) and dynamics
  • Freq range from 40-20k at least
  • Two way speaker only

The following questions come to mind:

1. Should I be indifferent between the woofers listed below?
  2. Would both woofers be capable of an open and closed baffle design?
  3. Are there better woofers at the $100 price point?
  4. What would be the best crossover point 2.5k or 2k for either of them?
  5. Can a crossover be eliminated completely, by using a low/high pass filters using capacitors and resistors only?

Details are stated below:

Celestion CDX1-1745 Ferrite 1" Compression Driver 75W
Celestion CDX1-1745 Ferrite 1" Compression Driver 75W

Eminence Alpha-15A 15" Driver
Eminence Alpha-15A 15" Driver

B&C Generic Woofer 15” 8 Ohm Neo
(See attachment)

Attached are some details for the drivers.

Thanks in advance for all the help.

I don't think the attachment came across. Here it is. 2 Way PA System.jpg

I don't like to be the bearer of bad news, but you've a lot of reading and learning to do.

First up, go and learn to use WinISD Pro. That'll let you get an idea of the cabinets that might meet your targets.
It'll probably tell you that the Eminence Alpha 15A isn't suitable for much in the PA world, and the B&C driver will probably want a very large enclosure to get to 40Hz with authority. Even then, it won't have much output due to the limited Xmax.