Yuichi A-290 calculation Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my very first build and probably should have started with something simpler but I essentially got a pair of jbl 2226h, 2446h w/2380a and 2241h for free after parting some cabinets out.

While going through the design of the A-290 the only way I managed to match the design output from Yuichi's site is to have an initial T parameter that varies with distance

It sounds odd, but the calculations work and T is changing at a constant rate (+.002/cm), resulting in an error of less than .08% from my calculations to Yuichi's. Does any one know if this is feasible/correct?

I seem to think so because in back calculating T from the design it looks to be varying. I was also able to verify the first set of example calculations and match those 100%.

I am just going through the design to try to learn, CADD the details up and design a router jig to fabricate the horns.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

FWIW,

I have the original Yuichi Arai articles, and the A-290 is supposed to be a 290Hz, T=0.7 hypex throughout (which perfectly matches the initial throat built into the TAD TD-4001 driver, BTW).

Any deviation from such parameters must be down to rounding errors, I suppose.

Marco

Thanks for the reply! The parameters match my initial ones, hypex, T=.707, Fc=290. Without the T varying the error jumps up to 5% by the horn end. Probably wouldn't make an audible difference but is numerically "significant" error. I just found it curious that it could be resolved in somewhat of a logical manner.

I'm working on a budget version of the TAD exclusive 2402 but based on jbl drivers and hope for a decent result. I will probably add a VHF driver to the set up, but the first priority is to upgrade the 2380a!