Adding a ribbon tweeter to an Alpair 6.2m

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I've recently built a couple of Woden Designs Sasquatch full range with some great help and support from Dave, Chris and Scott:

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/317942-alpair-6m-cyburgs-needle-br-design.html

These sound good but I still need to tweak. What I planned for these drivers was versatility so I could use them for a few projects (mains, surrounds and multi way - MLTL and BR). One I'd like to try is to use this as mid bass and add a tweeter to get a wider stereo stage.

I'm thinking about ribbon tweeters and don't have too much to spend. About £150. I have a Behringer active crossover rack unit which I will use for the crossover before I progress to making as passive crossover.

Which tweeters would pair well with this driver? I have found two that look like likely candidates but I am new to multi range so I am not aware of the immediate pitfalls of driver selection. If there is an article someone can recommend then great. If someone can shed a bit of light even better.

Fountek Ribbon NeoCD 3.5H Size 110x98mm

Monacor RBT-35SR Size 110x98mm

I plan to place them on top of the Alpairs MLTL in free air. Would there be an issue with this?

Any advice would be great, thanks!

Attachments

• image22.JPG
    image22.JPG
    138.5 KB · Views: 314
Hi GrahamGraham,

I think you're barking up the wrong tree. Something doesn't seem right to me - looking for a tweeter to add to cones that are designed to go past your ability to hear - i.e. at least 20kHz. I don't think there's any issue with your Alpairs in terms of treble.

I think stereo imaging is a fairly complex topic, but have you messed around with the positioning of your speakers and listening chair for starter ?