New build - which way to go?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I used to play with speakers, for hobby, destroyed amplifiers, repaired amplifiers, repaired speakers (coils), designed/built a few enclosures, played with passive filters, all just for fun/experience. I am an engineer.

Lately I bought a guitar. I enjoy listening to music sometimes, and I like good quality speakers. I am not, by far, an audiophile, but I should be able to make a difference between crappy speakers and ok speakers. I never heard a set of speakers to reproduce violin accurately. Guitar, piano - yes. Violin, cello - no. Maybe I have been listening to the wrong recordings or wrong speaker system.

I am looking to build a nice stereo system, but with all my knowledge and all, after reading a bit on the web, I feel lost, and I need some advice. What am I looking for: a nice system that could reproduce nicely whatever I want to put through it: classical, hard rock, guitar, pop,... you name it.

To be more specific, I was looking towards a 10" woofer, an 8" bass/med, dome tweeter, ribbon tweeter. The only problem: not having extensive experience with the speakers on the market, I don't know what a ribbon tweeter would complement the system, but it seems useful to reproduce certain frequencies. I don't know how to really filter the frequencies in order to get a nice clean sound. When I tried before to put together a filter with multiple bass speakers, all I got was a muddy sound, that cleaned up all of the sudden when I pulled the filter resistors out and moved to a single bass/woofer.

I was browsing and I just saw a full thread of open baffle designs - I guess I need to study a bit.