need help designing a 3-way crossover

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am seeing large dips and uneven distribution of SPL. im new to this and would like some help in designing this

Attachments

• existing fr.jpg
    existing fr.jpg
    143.1 KB · Views: 225
  • crossover.jpg
    crossover.jpg
    419.3 KB · Views: 215
diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2008
Paid Member
If you made for example, C2 smaller and/or L5 larger you'd see the mid driver peak near 400Hz reduced. Maybe try making L2 smaller for the mid driver top end. See if you can give them a little more symmetry as this makes it easier. Have a play with it.

Attachments

• 600px-Linkwitz_vs_Butterworth.png
    600px-Linkwitz_vs_Butterworth.png
    30.8 KB · Views: 66
Crossover Design

Would this be considered an ideal response, i have gone with a 3 way 2nd order crossover. As you can see i have modeled the bandpass with out inverting polarity. I saw a slight peak in impedance at 250hz, can somebody help me remedy this.I am new to this, can you please check the frequency and impedance response and tell me if its proper so i can go ahead with fabrication

The drivers used are as follows,

Tweeter-Dayton Audio PT2C-8 Planar Tweeter

Midrange - Dayton Audio DC50FA-8 Classic Series 2" Dome Midrange

Woofer- Dayton Audio DC300-8 12" Classic Woofer (using 2 woofers in paralle)

Going for a TMWW configuration

Attachments

• X-over.jpg
    X-over.jpg
    26.6 KB · Views: 72
  • Impedance response.jpg
    Impedance response.jpg
    145.7 KB · Views: 71
  • frequency response.jpg
    frequency response.jpg
    142.1 KB · Views: 80
i have arrived at this design. but why does the impedance drop to 2 ohms? the woofers which are individual 8 ohms, will be wired in parallel, have i incorporated that into the design?

Attachments

• frequency response.jpg
    frequency response.jpg
    142.1 KB · Views: 48
  • Impedance response.jpg