Am I getting the most from my Fostex F120a WAW?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A few years ago I bought a pair of Fostex F120a for a WAW build. I had gotten a taste for full-range/wideband speakers via a pair of 1st gen. Blumenstein Orcas with the Fostex fe103. They hooked me on speed and dynamics, but were quite harsh and shouty even with my Bottlehead Stereomour 2a3-based SET. Without knowing any better I looked at the specs of the 120a, saw that some folks had used them with success (including Blumenstein with his short-lived Makos), and decided to go for it.

My listening room is only 10' wide, so my speakers are only a few inches away from the front wall. To make integration as easy as possible I ended up building a sealed-box WAW, following the general dimensions of the Omega Outlaw 3xrs (27"H x 11"W x 7.5"D). I hadn't heard them, but since I am only a beginner at this and don't have design software, I figured imitating Louis was a good idea. The result is....pretty good, but I wonder if a different enclosure would get more out of the Fostex.

What is "more"? I don't need more bass. The Dayton RSS210HO-8 8" sub is powered by a separate Crown XRS1500 amp with electronic crossover and the combination has WAY more output than I need. The highs are a bit rolled off, but that was understood from the start. That leaves the midrange. I am wondering if the enclosure is muddying the sound in some way? Baffle step loss? Perhaps allowing sound to reflect back through the thin cone of the driver? I've played with a 66.25mf capacitor to attenuate the bass, and eliminating the lowest frequencies seems to have sharpened the midrange, especially at high volume. That said, I haven't modeled it and don't know what exactly I've done.