Infinite Line Source: analysis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well it's been a long time since i offered something like a tutorial on this message board, so it's high time to maybe give a little something back to this wonderful community, once again :) and so, with your kind permission and indulgence, let's begin!

I'll highlight the posts where i'm advancing the tutorial (so to speak), to allow for plenty of discussion in the time and space "in between" ...

POST #1: OUTLINE

A. Point Source: frequency-domain pressure response
B. Point Source: time-domain impulse response
C. Infinite Line Source: frequency-domain pressure response
D. Infinite Line Source: time-domain impulse response

I thought we'd start with the idealized point source, to establish both a nomenclature and methodology. I'm an engineer (or ... was one, once upon a time), rather than a physicist, and that training tends to drive my perspective and analysis. The analysis will get a bit "heavy" in Fourier math ... it's rather unavoidable ... but i'll do my best to minimize detours and stay focused on the goal, which is to hopefully highlight some pros & cons of the idealized infinite line source, compared to the idealized point source.

Regarding practical implications, for right now i will only offer that which many already understand: the "image" theory of reflections quickly reveals that a floor-to-ceiling line array (with drivers of appropriate size & spacing) does a reasonable job of approximating the idealized infinite line source :)