Proac Tablette 50 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st April 2004, 09:22 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Proac Tablette 50

I'm a newbie considering building some Proac Tablette 50s. I'm having problems finding the SEAS P14RCY/P drivers, all I can find are P14RCY. Is it possible just to substitute these? How would these compare to my B&W601's?

Mike
Old 1st April 2004, 10:39 AM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

JMO but a smaller speaker is going to have a hard time against
the B&W601's (you don't say which version) as will any built
loudspeaker unless it has a properly designed crossover, serious
attention paid to the cabinet and high quality units fitted.

A high quality miniature stand mounter could compete with
the 601's if a subwoofer is involved, even so maximum levels
would be lower, due to the miniatures sensitivity.

sreten.
Old 1st April 2004, 10:45 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the reply.

The 601's are series 2.

I'm just looking for a 'cheapish' DIY standmount project that has been tried and tested. There are plenty of floorstander project around but I can't find much in the way of smaller speakers

Surely the Proacs would be a step up from a pair of 200 B&W's?

Mike
Old 1st April 2004, 11:14 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

http://audioclone.free.fr/
Old 1st April 2004, 11:18 AM   #5
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

You'd expect the real ProAc's to be, but I wouldn't
expect a very basic clone to be that good.

try this :

http://home.hetnet.nl/~geenius/HATT-III.html

Personally I'd build the cabinet somewhat differently,
more like the ProAc with thinner, better damped walls.

If your interested I'll post some details.

or this :