Help design a crossover for a tiny two way speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings. I have recently been tinkering with speaker building and decided to post a question here based on advise from another forum.

I plan to build a tiny desktop speaker for using a Tymphany SDS Series 830855 4" Woofer 8 Ohm and a Dayton Audio AMTPOD-4 tweeter.

I plan to use two Tymphany 830878 3-1/2" Passive Radiator per speaker box.

The use of the tweeter is because I got me a pair on craigslist to add to my car. I saw this project on Pinterest and I thought "wow, I think I can make this".

I have never built a speaker before, but I am good with small wood working projects. I also understand the very basics of how a loadspeaker works.

Can someone please help me with a crossover design ? Or point me to an off the shelf crossover I should use ?

What would be the smallest cabinet I can use ? Do I need two passive speakers per box ? I would like to build something smaller than the Pioneer BS22 speakers but with a nicer bass. I am not sure if I asked the question right. Please bare with me.

Last edited:
Hi, why do you not follo the DIY report, which you linked yourself, the one with the Dayton woofer; why re-invent the wheel? However I write against using two loudspeakers as usually done, because that is mess, not stereo, see my last blog entry for an explanation. [wink]

Sir, that is a fair question. I think I would like to reinvent the wheel because I do have the woofers. Also, isn't every speaker idea in this and many other forum reinventing the wheel ? Isnt that the spirit of invention itself ? My question on two speakers was, can I use two passive speakers for one woofer ? I ask this because my understanding is a passive speaker should be same size or larger than the active speaker. Is this correct ?