What graphs do you want to see in a build-thread?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I have now actually finished my "Tannoy 2528 Trapezoid" speakers that I had discussed with some of you some time ago here.

tannoy-2528-trapezoid-finished-in-workshop.jpg

For the purpose of sharing my experience, I would like to post a build-thread here, but I've got a few questions...

I am not very experienced with taking measurements, and I am not exactly sure what people like to see measured. I have REW installed and a calibrated mic from minidsp on a tripod. I usually do sweeps from 20 to 16k, from the listening position, and then from 1× cone distance (not even sure why the latter...).

Unfortunately I cannot measure outside, too many neighbors. I could do a close measurement with the speaker in the center of the room maybe?

What else could I do to get some reasonable measurements without lots of room influences?

Any smoothing preferences? Or zoom preferences?

Waterfall?

Thanks...

(amazing specs on that driver - which crossover are you using?) you could do a "near cone" being careful not to poke the cone - that would tell the box tuning. Perhaps a near - port. A microphone plot on the floor might take out one dip.

What measurement software are you using? - more experience builders will have better advice than myself.

@freddi: The drivers came with the original crossovers, and I figured I will use those for now.

I will post the technical data of the drivers. I don't know details about the crossover, although I believe the data includes the crossover point.

Posting the frequency response of cabinet with all drives is what I intended, but there are many ways to measure it, and also to plot that resulting graph (smoothing etc.). I was looking for suggestions in that area.