The Qualias - centerpieces for living room

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello ladies and gentlemen!

Long time lurker first time poster so a little background before the technicals. I've been perusing through here for ages and finally think I'm ready to step into the world of designing my own DIY. I'm not a total beginner having built a set of Aviatrix and a set of Volt 6 before, but I've never designed my own. I'd post pictures but the aviatrix were given to a friend as a house warming gift, though haven't heard any complaints (other than about my colour choice of blue :confused:).

Not too long ago I bought a house and am slowly working on the living room. I've got a central wall about 8'x15'. I'll be adding shelves on the lower sides, a giant art piece up in the middle (looking at roughly 4'x8' custom print on fabric), and in the middle of the wall I want to put my record player and what I'm hoping to name The Qualias.

In case you haven't figured out I want to prioritize form over function, but still have decent sounding speakers for my records. I have a budget of roughly $500 for the pair.

Since I was already familiar with Curt Campbell's work I was strongly considering building the Uluwatu he designed, but they don't *quite* do it for me so now I'm here. I really like the 2.5 way concept, I like the line arrays I've seen, so the Uluwatu seems like a nice blend, a 2.5 way mini-array.

My current thought process is taking the Uluwatu as a base design, and making it my own. To do so I'm thinking (per speaker except for miniDSP):

6xps95-8
1xpeerless H26TG45-06
1xminiDSP 2x4 kit with pot
1xInductor(value TBD)
1xTPA3116D2 amp
(Estimating ~$260 before wood)