New DIYer needs help.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I'm am new to these forums and completely new to the DIY scene and I have a few questions. Well I have no clue where to start. What I plan to do is build me some bookshelf speakers that will run off my logitech z680 amp until I get a reciever. When I do get a reciever it will be at least 100w per channel if not more. The logitech amp is 8 ohms, but I have no clue about mixing and matching. I'm also on a budget since I am a college student, so I am not looking to spend more than around 200 to 300 dollar when finished. Any good reading material and other help would be highly appreciated.

I was thinking on starting a similar post, since I have been digging in the forum and can't really work out a good program on how to build a speaker.

At the moment I am collecting info by going through all the DIY-sites and some posts here on the forum. I'd be happy to share it with you once it is a bit complete.

Assuming you don't wanna buy a book on the subject, I'd suggest you can start to do some reading here:
http://www.silcom.com/~aludwig/Sysdes/Design_of_the_sound_system.htm

For a good starter book I always recommend The Great Sound Stereo Speaker Manual by David Weems. It does a good job of explaining the basics and includes several complete projects. Keep your mind open for alternatives. For a good sounding, smaller speaker that's easy to build and inexpensive consider using a "full-range" driver such as the Fostex FE-103E or Fe-127E in one of their recommended enclosures. Another thing that many newcomers to audio get hung up on is power ratings. Remember, the first watt is the most important one because you will always be listening to it. If the first watt is bad 99 more isnt' going to help. You'd be surprised how loud 3 or 4 watts can be with the right speakers when it's clean power. Check out this project: