RS28F-RS180P-B80 as Hole Filler 3-way

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've tried the paper cone SB and wasn't terribly impressed since IMO it needs the same attention given to the break up as a metal cone. So what's the point? And it's audible without, a dry hiss that is always present at low level.

Another very good candidate is a Scan Discovery.

augerpro,

I have no experience with the SBA woofers. I noticed that there are two types of paper cone drivers from SBA in this range - one is the "coated" SB17NRXC35-8 and the other "uncoated" SB17NRXC35-8-UC. From what I have read (other speaker brands and models, not SBA), the coated cones are "quieter" vs the uncoated ones.

Which one of the paper coned SBA mid-bass did you try out?

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
Thanks for the tip Piersma. Audio terminology is universal so no translator needed to see 2H and 3H curves for. sB17NRXC35-4

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The polycone SB17MFC35-4 is not as good:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The Satori MW16P-8 seems to have the lowest 3H distortion though (but higher euphonic 2H):

The 7in Revelator 18W/8351G00 looks very good:

The one I am really curious about is the 7.5in Satori MW19P-8:

mw19p-8.jpg

Last edited:
augerpro,

I have no experience with the SBA woofers. I noticed that there are two types of paper cone drivers from SBA in this range - one is the "coated" SB17NRXC35-8 and the other "uncoated" SB17NRXC35-8-UC. From what I have read (other speaker brands and models, not SBA), the coated cones are "quieter" vs the uncoated ones.

Which one of the paper coned SBA mid-bass did you try out?

I used the coated paper. Also, these were the 15cm versions, which might behave a bit different than the 18cm ones that are being considered here.