Speaker box Design Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
what box should I make for a JBL m115-8a

Hello DIYers,
I'm starting those new topic because i rescently bought a pair of JBL m115-8a , wich looking not bad actualy for the try i made
So i would like to make my own speaker box , but i dont know which box design type is better
I would like to make those sort of box THIS or like THIS or like THIS
Do you guys have this sort of speaker box plan and do you think those sort of box is ok with th m115-8a speaker or should i go for another speaker box plan ?
Thank you for your help
Regards

Last edited:
As a loudspeaker design engineer, I don't like ANY of those. Certain wacky designs, like from Danley or the Electro-Voice "manifold" technology, or the crazy stuff that Turbosound had, have strong design rationales and good performance.

BUT. A LOT of "PA" stuff, especially cheap stuff, is designed to look cool and/or copy previous successful designs but without the detailed knowledge. This stuff is junk.

I recommend a straightforward vented box, with a large unobstructed shelf port with radiuses edged.

But actually I recommend you start a totally different thread titled "what box should I make for a JBL m115-8a" (unless a moderator can kindly rename this one). Hopefully that would get you more specific help from those familiar with the woofer.

A very big note of caution about box design for PA speakers: you have to take operating temperature into account! Back in the day, you could run simulations on JBL Pro woofers, and realize that the "ideal box" would be smaller than the shipping carton! HOWEVER, with the speakers at full crank under power, the voice coil heats up tremendously and the parameters shift drastically, and therefore the box and tuning as well. This is not a concern with home speakers really.